2018 Academicians Announced

Academia Sinica held its biennial Convocation of Academicians from July 2 to July 5 culminating in the announcement of the 2018 list of Academicians on July 5, 2018. This year, total of 21 new Academicians were elected.
List of Academicians is as follows:
Division of Mathematics and Physical Sciences (5)
Chia-Ling Chien

Current position(s): Jacob K. Hain Professor of Physics, The Johns Hopkins University

Specialties: Condensed Matter Physics, Nanostructures, Spintronics

Pao-Kuan Wang

Current position(s): Distinguished Research Fellow and Director, Research Center for Environmental Changes, Academia Sinica

Specialties: Atmospheric Sciences

Chien-Hong Cheng

Current position(s): National Chair Professor, Department of Chemistry, NTHU

Specialties: Metal-catalyzed organic reactions; Organic optoelectronic materials

Ting-kuo Lee

Current position(s): Distinguished Research Fellow and Acting Director of Institute of Physics, Academia Sinica

Specialties: Theoretical Condensed Matter Physics
An-Pang Tsai

Current position(s): Professor, Institute of Multidisciplinary Research for Advanced Materials, Tohoku


Specialties: Fabrication of quasicrystals and designing new metallic catalysts in terms of metallurgy

Read More