

中央研究院 ACADEMIA SINICA 128 Academia Road, Section 2 Nankang, Taipei 115, Taiwan, **廖俊智**院長 James C. Liao, Ph.D. President Tel:+886-2-2789-9400 Fax:+886-2-2785-3852 http://www.sinica.edu.tw E-mail:liaoj@gate.sinica.edu.tw

August 17, 2016

Dear Colleagues:

It has been almost two months since I assumed presidency at the end of June. During this period of time, I have relied heavily on Vice Presidents Yu Wang, Andrew H.-J. Wang and Fan-Sen Wang, who also served as the Interim President, to familiarize myself with Academia Sinica internal affairs, smoothly deliver a policy address at the Legislative Yuan, and chair the Convocation of Academicians (院士會議) in July. In addition, the three vice presidents have spared no effort in assisting former President Wong to move Academia Sinica forward over the last few years, for which I admire their dedication and contribution to our institution.

To ensure continued growth, after extensive consultation with various academicians and colleagues, I have appointed the following academicians to be the new Vice Presidents of Academia Sinica commencing on September 1, 2016: Academician Mei-Yin Chou (周美吟), current Director of the Institute of Atomic and Molecular Sciences; Academician Fu-Tong Liu (劉扶東), current Director of the Institute of Biomedical Sciences; and Academician Chin-shing Huang (黃進興), current Director of the Institute of History and Philology. Moving forward, I intend to make concerted efforts with the three Vice Presidents to make Academia Sinica a world leading research institute. Meanwhile, I would like to express my sincere gratitude and pay my highest respect to the three outgoing vice presidents.

In addition, to improve the organization and amend the law related to election affairs within Academia Sinica, the 32nd Convocation of Academicians has passed a resolution to establish the Committee for Improvement of Organization and Operation at Academia Sinica (中央研究院組織與運作改進委員會), and has elected 12 Academician Committee Members. With regard to the choice of the five Academia Sinica Representatives (ASR) for the Committee, the 3rd meeting of the General Assembly (院務會議) has decided on July 26, 2016 that (1) each Institute or Research Center will individually or jointly nominate one candidate; (2) the candidates will be voted by all current employees of Academia Sinica; (3) the candidates with most votes in their respective divisions will be ASR.

We have already started planning the ASR election. In the near future, information about the list of candidates, their campaign statements, and the online voting system will be officially announced on the ASR election website. We encourage your participation. Should you have any comments or suggestions, please don't hesitate to let us know.

Thank you for your attention.

Best regards,

James C. Liao President