Taiwan International Graduate Program held Sixth Certificate Conferral Ceremony

Academia Sinica held a certificate conferral ceremony for this year's graduates of the Taiwan International Graduate Program (TIGP) on December 13, 2011. This year there were a total of 40 graduates, who received the TIGP Certificate from Academia Sinica Vice President and TIGP Director Dr. Shie-Ming Peng at the ceremony.

Among the graduates 25 students were from Taiwan, 9 from India, 3 from Malaysia, 2 from Iraq, and 1 from Bangladesh. Including this year's graduates, to date, a total 66 students have completed the TIGP program's rigorous requirements and received TIGP certificates. Each year, many students in the programs publish papers in top international scholarly journals and many alumni go on to take up positions in world-renowned institutions.

Launched in 2002, the TIGP program integrates the first-class facilities and top-notch faculties available at Academia Sinica and partner universities into a learning environment where English is the first language. The program currently has 339 students enrolled in ten Ph.D. programs. Many of the TIGP students come from overseas (currently hailing from 36 countries). TIGP is run by Academia Sinica in collaboration with Taiwan's top research universities. The certificate conferred by the Academy is given in addition to the diploma conferred by the collaborating university.

List of the 2011 TIGP Graduates:

Program	Name of Graduate	Place of Origin	Affiliated Institution	Thesis Advisor
Chemical Biology and Molecular Biophysics	Gopi Kuppuraj	India	National Tsing Hua University	Dr. Carmay Lim, Institute of Biomedical Sciences, Academia Sinica
Chemical Biology and Molecular Biophysics	Che-Hsiung Hsu	Taiwan	National Tsing Hua University	Dr. Chi-Huey Wong, Genomics Research Center, Academia Sinica
Chemical Biology and Molecular Biophysics	Shiuan-Woei Lin Wu	Taiwan	National Tsing Hua University	Dr. Andrew HJ. Wang, Institute of Biological Chemistry, Academia Sinica
Chemical Biology and Molecular Biophysics	Yi-Ting Wang	Taiwan	National Tsing Hua University	Dr. Hanna Yuan, Institute of Molecular Biology, Academia Sinica
Chemical Biology and	Shih-Chi Luo	Taiwan	National Tsing Hua University	Dr. Chin-Pan Chen, Institute of Biomedical

Molecular				Sciences, Academia
Biophysics Chemical Biology and Molecular Biophysics	Jin-Yuan Ho	Taiwan	National Taiwan University	Sinica Dr. Ming-Daw Tsai, Institute of Biological Chemistry, Academia Sinica
Molecular Science and Technology	Shih-Chang Yang	Taiwan	National Tsing Hua University	Dr. Wen-Bih Tzeng, Institute of Atomic and Molecular Sciences, Academia Sinica
Molecular Science and Technology	Hsien-Chen Ko	Taiwan	National Tsing Hua University	Dr. Sheng-Hsein Lin, Institute of Atomic and Molecular Sciences, Academia Sinica
Molecular Science and Technology	Md. Minarul Islam	Bangladesh	National Tsing Hua University	Dr. Yu-Tai Tao, Institute of Chemistry, Academia Sinica
Molecular Science and Technology	Vaijayanthimala Vairakkannu	India	National Tsing Hua University	Dr. Huan-Cheng Chang, Institute of Atomic and Molecular Sciences, Academia Sinica
Molecular Science and Technology	Yen-Ting Chen	Taiwan	National Tsing Hua University	Dr. Kuei-Hsien Chen, Institute of Atomic and Molecular Sciences, Academia Sinica
Molecular and Biological Agricultural Sciences	Yen-Hsing Li	Taiwan	National Chung Hsing University	Dr. Jen-Leih Wu, Institute of Cellular and Organismic Biology, Academia Sinica
Molecular and Biological Agricultural Sciences	Shanmugam Varanavasiappan	India		Dr. Kuo Chen Yeh, Agricultural Biotechnology Research Center, Academia Sinica
Molecular and Biological Agricultural Sciences	Ya-Ling Lin	Taiwan	National Chung Hsing University	Dr. Hong Yong Fu, Institute of Plant and Microbial Biology, Academia Sinica
Molecular and Biological Agricultural Sciences	Saminathan Thangasamy	India	J	Academia Sinica Dr.Guang-Yuh Jauh, Institute of Plant and Microbial Biology, Academia Sinica
Molecular and	Arun Kapoor	India	National Chung	Dr. Yung-Feng Liao,

Biological Agricultural Sciences				Institute of Cellular and Organismic Biology, Academia Sinica Dr. Shu-Mei Liang, Agricultural Biotechnology Research Center, Academia Sinica
Molecular and Biological Agricultural Sciences	Wai Leng Lee	Malaysia	National Chung Hsing University	Dr. Lie-Fen Shyur, Agricultural Biotechnology Research Center, Academia Sinica
Molecular and Biological Agricultural Sciences	Lay-Sun Ma	Malaysia	National Chung Hsing University	Dr. Erh-Min Lai, Institute of Plant and Microbial Biology, Academia Sinica
Molecular and Cell Biology	Hsiang-Yu Chang	Taiwan	National Defense Medical Center	Dr. Earl Fu, Graduate Institute of Life Sciences, National Defense Medical Center
Molecular and Cell Biology	Kien-Thiam Tan	Malaysia	National Defense Medical Center	Dr. Ying-Hue Lee, Institute of Molecular Biology, Academia Sinica
Molecular and Cell Biology	Ching-Hang Liu	Taiwan	National Defense Medical Center	Dr. Chih-Shung Wong, Graduate Institute of Medical Center, National Defense Medical Center
Molecular and Cell Biology	Meng-Ti Hsieh	Taiwan	National Defense Medical Center	Dr. Rey-Huei Chen, Institute of Molecular Biology, Academia Sinica
Molecular and Cell Biology	Shang-Lin Chang	Taiwan	National Defense Medical Center	Dr. Jun-Yi Leu, Institute of Molecular Biology, Academia Sinica
Bioinformatics	Wen-Ching Chan	Taiwan	National Yang-Ming University	Dr. Chun-Nan Hsu, Institute of Information Science, Academia Sinica
Bioinformatics	Meng-Ru Ho	Taiwan	National Yang-Ming University	Dr. Wen-Chang Lin, Institute of Biomedical Sciences, Academia Sinica
Bioinformatics	Chun-Chang Chen	Taiwan	National Yang-Ming University	Dr. Wen-Hsiung Li, Biodiversity Research Center, Academia Sinica
Bioinformatics	Sung-Chou Li	Taiwan	National Yang-Ming University	Dr. Wen-Chang Lin, Institute of Biomedical Sciences, Academia

				Sinica
Bioinformatics	Hsin-Nan Lin	Taiwan	National Chiao Tung University	Dr. Wen-Lian Hsu Institute of Information Science, Academia Sinica
Nano Science and Technology	Fu-Kuo Chiang	Taiwan	National Tsing Hua University	Dr. Ming-Wen Chu, Center for Condensed Matter Sciences, National Taiwan University
Nano Science and Technology	Fei-Ting Huang	Taiwan	National Taiwan University	Dr. Ming-Wen Chu, Center for Condensed Matter Sciences, National Taiwan University
Nano Science and Technology	Nitin Mohan	India	National Tsing Hua University	Dr. Huan -Cheng Chang, Institute of Atomic and Molecular Sciences, Academia Sinica
Nano Science and Technology	Sharma Pradeep	India	National Taiwan University	Dr. Yuh-Lin Wang, Institute of Atomic and Molecular Sciences, Academia Sinica
Nano Science and Technology	Tzu-Hsin Chan	Taiwan	National Taiwan University	Dr. Yuh-lin Wang, Institute of Atomic and Molecular Sciences, Academia Sinica
Nano Science and Technology	Rakesh Singh Moirangthem	India	National Tsing Hua University	Dr. Yia Chung Chang, Research Center for Applied Sciences, Academia Sinica
Nano Science and Technology	Mohamed Nadhim Abbas	Iraq	National Tsing Hua University	Dr. Yia Chung Chang, Research Center for Applied Sciences, Academia Sinica
Nano Science and Technology	Hung-Yang Chen	Taiwan	National Taiwan University	Dr. Chin-Ti Chen, Institute of Chemistry, Academia Sinica
Molecular Medicine	Abd-Al-Ahad nagham George	Iraq	National Yang-Ming University	Dr. Yuan-Tsong Chen, Institute of Biomedical Sciences, Academia Sinica
Molecular Medicine	Kumar Sanjiv	India	National Yang-Ming University	Dr. Te-Chang Lee, Institute of Biomedical Sciences, Academia Sinica
Molecular Medicine	Huei-Ying Li	Taiwan	National Yang-Ming	Dr. Pang-Hsien Tu, Institute of Biomedical

			University	Sciences, Academia Sinica
Computational Linguistics and Chinese Language Processing	Cheng-Hsien Chen	Taiwan	University	Dr. Shu-Chuan Tseng, Institute of Linguistics, Academia Sinica Dr. Lily I-Wen Su, Graduate Institute of Linguistics, National Taiwan University