## Academician James Liao Elected to US National Academy of Sciences

Academia Sinica Academician James C. Liao has been elected a member of the US National Academy of Sciences (NAS) the academy announced on April 28. He is among 84 new members and 21 foreign associates from 15 countries elected this year in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.

Dr. Liao is currently the Ralph M. Parsons Foundation Professor and Chair of the Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering Department at the University of California, Los Angeles. His research focuses on metabolic engineering, synthetic biology, systems biology, and bioenergy.

Dr. Liao holds a B.A. in Chemical Engineering from National Taiwan University and a Ph.D. in Chemical Engineering from the University of Wisconsin. He worked as a Research Scientist at Eastman Kodak Company and a Professor at Texas A&M University. He joined the faculty of the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, University of California, Los Angeles in 1997 and is or has served as a Professor (1997-present), Vice Chair, Chancellor's Professor, Ralph M. Parsons Foundation Professor (2011-present), Chair (2012-present), Associate Director for Energy Research, UCLA-DOE Institute for Genomics and Proteomics (2007-present), Member, Molecular Biology Institute (2010-present), and Professor of the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry (2011-present).

Dr. Liao is an accomplished scientist. He is Fellow of the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (2002), a member of the American Chemical Society (2009), the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (2009), Society for Biological Engineering (2009), the National Academy of Engineering (2013), and the National Academy of Engineering, USA (2013), and has received the Merck Award for Metabolic Engineering (2006), Charles Thom Award, Society for Industrial Microbiology (2008), Marvin J. Johnson Award Biochemical Technology Division, Alpha Chi Sigma Award, James E. Bailey Award, Presidential Green Chemistry Challenge Award, Academic Category (2010), White House Champion of Change in Renewable Energy (2012), ENI Award, Renewable Energy Prize (2013), and US National Academy of Sciences Award for the Industrial Application of Science (2014).

The National Academy of Sciences (NAS) is a private, non-profit society of distinguished scholars. It was established by an Act of Congress, signed by President Abraham Lincoln in 1863, and is charged with providing independent, objective advice to the nation on matters related to science and technology. Scientists are elected by their peers to <u>membership</u> in the NAS for outstanding contributions to research. The NAS is committed to furthering science in America, and its members are active contributors to the international scientific community. The academy currently has 2,250 members and 452 foreign associates. Nearly 500 NAS members have won Nobel Prizes.

Related Websites: <u>http://www.nasonline.org/news-and-multimedia/news/april-28-2015-NAS-</u> Election.html