Academia Sinica President Chi-Huey Wong Receives 2015 Robert Robinson Award

The Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) announced today that Academia Sinica President Chi-Huey Wong will receive the 2015 Robert Robinson Award in recognition of his "development of chemical and enzymatic synthesis methods to elucidate the roles of carbohydrates in biology and create new opportunities in medicine." Along with the award, President Wong is invited to deliver lectures at up to four UK universities before May 2016.

The Royal Society of Chemistry, founded in 1841, is a UK not-for-profit professional body for chemical scientists whose mission aims to advance excellence in the chemical sciences. With a heritage that spans 170 years and 51,000 members, the Royal Society of Chemistry partners with industry and academia to promote collaboration and innovation, and also advises governments on policy.

The Robert Robinson Award, lunched in 1964, is awarded for contributions to organic chemistry from a senior researcher. Since 2006, it has been bestowed to one winner every year, and up to 2015 there have been a total of 30 winners.

Dr. Wong was elected President of Academia Sinica in 2006. He is the ninth President of Academia Sinica. He was re-elected to the presidency for a second term in 2010. President Wong was the first scholar to develop chemoenzymatic methods for the practical synthesis of oligosaccharides and glycoproteins and he is also the first scholar to develop an automated method for the synthesis of oligosaccharides. Recently, Dr. Wong's group has made several important discoveries in the area of glycosciences including, the synthesis of cancer vaccines, sugar chips, and advances in anti-viral and anti-bacterial research. Dr. Wong has published more than 700 academic research papers, obtained more than 100 patents, and published four reference books. And he is a highly cited scientist with an H-index 101.

Dr. Wong was elected an Academician of Academia Sinica in 1994; he is also an elected member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (1996), the US National Academy of Sciences (2002), the World Academy of Sciences (2007), and an Associate Member of the European Molecular Biology Organization (2010). Dr. Wong is a recipient of numerous honors and awards, including, notably, the U.S. Presidential Young Investigator Award in Chemistry (1986), the Roy Whistler Award of the International Carbohydrate Organization (1994), the American Chemical Society Claude S. Hudson Award in Carbohydrate Chemistry (1999), the International Enzyme Engineering Award (1999), the U.S. Presidential Green Chemistry

Challenge Award (2000), the American Chemical Society Award for Creative Work in Synthetic Organic Chemistry (2005), the Humboldt Research Award for Senior Scientists (2006), the F.A. Cotton Medal for Excellence in Chemical Research (2008), the American Chemical Society Arthur C. Cope Award (2012), the Nikkei Asia Prize for Science, Technology and Innovation (2012). Dr. Wong was awarded the Wolf Prize in Chemistry in 2014.

Related website:

http://www.rsc.org/ScienceAndTechnology/Awards/RobertRobinsonAward/Index.asp